Mathew Backholer,  Teaching

A Brief Overview of Each Book of the Bible – Part 1

This is an excerpt from the book ‘Christianity Rediscovered, In Pursuit of God and the Path to Eternal Life: Book 1’ by Mathew Backholer and is used by permission. 

Genesis – The beginning of God’s plan of redemption.

Exodus – God’s people freed from slavery.

Leviticus – Laws and worship principles.

Numbers – The wilderness years.

Deuteronomy – Reviewing the previous years; emphasis on obeying God.

Joshua – Possessing the Promised Land.

Judges – The nation in disobedience and God helping His people.

Ruth – A faithful girl, introduced to the covenant of God with the Jews.

1 Samuel – The beginning of the Kingdom of Israel.

2 Samuel – The kingdom becomes greater.

1 Kings – The temple and mistakes.

2 Kings – Dividing the Kingdom of Israel.

1 Chronicles – God’s faithfulness.

2 Chronicles – The fall of Israel as a nation.

Ezra – Return from exile.

Nehemiah – Jerusalem rebuilt.

Esther – Jewish queen saves the Jews.

Job – Why do the righteous suffer?

Psalms – Honest worship; trials, victories and praise.

Find out more about the book here.

By Mathew Backholer. Find out about Mathew’s books here.